Support A2Billing :

provided by Star2Billing S.L.

Support A2Billing :
It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:22 am
Hosted Voice Broadcast


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: email address as weblogin
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 5
Dear all,

I have rebuilt the signup and many other things to suit the needs of my new site.
I was wondering, if online login would be an email address how would it affect on a2billing?

so far i didn't notice anything, else than i can't edit and save user profile that has email address as weblogin.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: email address as weblogin
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:56 pm
Posts: 4065
Hi

This is already supported, just enter the email address entered against the customer in the email address field followed by the WebUI password.

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: email address as weblogin
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 5
which version?
mine should be 2.0.6

In MySQL i enter WEBUI LOGIN as email then in a2billing i edit customer profile and i get:
"Insert the webui login - (number format)"

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: email address as weblogin
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:56 pm
Posts: 4065
All versions since about 1.3.4

Just enter the email address entered against the customer in the email address field followed by the WebUI password.

Note, I mention the "Email Address Field" not the WebUI logon field.

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: email address as weblogin
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 5
thanks its more clear now :)
Login using email


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: email address as weblogin
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 2
Both calls (A and B legs) use the same trunk (SIP), same rate card, same customer ID/Account number. I though it could some kind of simultaneous access limitation on account's configuration, but no, Simultaneous Access parameter is set correctly (Simultaneous Access = 1) and i've have double-checked by making several simultaneous calls using the same customer account and all calls are correctly billed and processed.

_____________
ANAIM


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Auto Dialer Software


All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group